Erweiterte Suche


wissen.leben | WWU Münster 


History

The Institute for New Testament Textual Research (INTF) was founded in Münster in 1959 by Prof. D. Kurt Aland, D.D. Litt. (1915-1994). Since the 1950s Aland had been working on Eberhard and Erwin Nestle's Novum Testamentum Graece. At the INTF the concise scholarly edition saw further revisions and publications, until it became the trade-mark of the institute under the name of Nestle-Aland. In 1966, a second concise edition intended for translators, the Greek New Testament, was published. The great papyri discoveries of the 20th century were of special relevance for a new reconstruction of the text published in both the 26th edition of Nestle-Aland and the third edition of the Greek New Testament. Both editions contain the identical text while differing in their apparatus.

However, the main objective of the Institute was the so-called Editio Critica Maior based on the entire tradition of the New Testament in Greek manuscripts, old translations and New Testament quotations in ancient Christian literature. The pre-requisite for the realisation of this task was the sifting and examination of the entire manuscript tradition of the Greek New Testament. Under the supervision of Kurt Aland the INTF first of all collected almost the entire material (partly on extensive manuscript travels), followed by analyses in single editions and specific studies in preparation of the Editio critia Maior.

Kurt Aland found a friend and patron in Bishop Hermann Kunst. In 1964 the latter established the foundation “Hermann Kunst Foundation for the Promotion of New Testament Textual Research” that has granted crucial financial support to the Institute ever since.

In 1979, Kurt Aland founded the Bible Museum that presents the work of the Institute to the general public.

In 1983, Prof. Lic. Dr. Barbara Aland succeeded her husband as director of the Institute. Under her supervision, the analysis of the material that had been started under Kurt Aland continued and was made accessible for research in numerous publications. The first supplement of the Editio Critica Maior with the Epistle of James was finally published in 1997. Barbara Aland led the Institute until 2004.

Since October 2004 Prof. Dr. Holger Strutwolf has been in office as director of the Institute and the Bible Museum.

In 2007 the Northrhine-Westphalian Academy of Sciences and Arts accepted the Editio Critica Maior as one of their projects. In the following year the project was established at Münster University as “Novum Testamentum Graecum - Editio Critica Maior”.




Impressum | © 2009 FB 1 Münster
Institut für neutestamentliche Textforschung
Pferdegasse 1 · 48143 Münster
Tel.: +49 (251) 83-22581 oder -22546 · Fax: +49 (251) 83-22582
E-Mail:

Erweiterte Suche


wissen.leben | WWU Münster 


Geschichte

Das Institut für Neutestamentliche Textforschung wurde 1959 in Münster von Prof. D. Kurt Aland, D.D., D. Litt. (1915-1994) gegründet. Seit den 50er Jahren hatte Aland bereits am Novum Testamentum Graece von Eberhard und Erwin Nestle mitgearbeitet. Im INTF wurde diese Handausgabe dann weiter revidiert und ediert und wurde als Nestle-Aland zum Markenzeichen des Instituts. 1966 kam als zweite Handausgabe das für Übersetzer vorgesehene Greek New Testament hinzu. Eine neue Textrekonstruktion, bei der den großen Papyrusfunden des 20. Jahrhunderts besondere Bedeutung zukam, erfolgte in der 26. Auflage des Nestle-Aland und in der dritten Auflage des Greek New Testament. Beide Ausgaben sind seitdem textidentisch, bieten aber unterschiedliche Apparate.

Hauptziel des Instituts war jedoch die sog. Editio Critica Maior, die die gesamte Überlieferung des Neuen Testaments in griechischen Handschriften, alten Übersetzungen und neutestamentlichen Zitaten in antiker christlicher Literatur zugrundelegt. Voraussetzung für die Realisierung dieser Aufgabe war die Sichtung und Auswertung der gesamten handschriftlichen Überlieferung des griechischen Neuen Testaments. Unter der Leitung von Kurt Aland erfolgte also zunächst in Vorbereitung auf die Editio Critica Maior die möglichst vollständige Sammlung des Materials (zum Teil auf ausgedehnten Handschriftenreisen) und seine Auswertung in Einzeleditionen und Spezial­untersuchungen.

Einen Freund und Förderer fand Kurt Aland in Bischof Hermann Kunst. Die von ihm 1964 ins Leben gerufene Stiftung, seit 1977 “Hermann Kunst-Stiftung zur Förderung der neutestamentlichen Textforschung”, gewährt dem Institut seitdem entscheidende finanzielle Unterstützung.

1979 wurde von Kurt Aland das Bibelmuseum gegründet, das die Arbeit des Instituts auch einer breiteren Öffentlichkeit vorstellt.

1983 folgte Frau Prof. Lic. Dr. Dr. h.c.Barbara Aland D.D., D. Litt. ihrem Mann in der Institutsleitung. Unter ihrer Ägide wurde die Auswertung des Materials weiter geführt und der Wissenschaft in vielen Veröffent­lichungen zugänglich gemacht. 1997 konnte dann die erste Lieferung der Editio Critica Maior mit dem Jakobusbrief erscheinen. Barbara Aland hat das Institut bis 2004 geleitet.

Seit Oktober 2004 leitet Prof. Dr. Holger Strutwolf Institut und Bibelmuseum.

2007 wurde das Projekt der Editio Critica Maior in das Programm der Nordrhein-Westfälischen Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Künste aufgenommen. Im folgenden Jahr wurde die Arbeitsstelle “Novum Testamentum Graecum - Editio Critica Maior” an der Universität Münster eingerichtet.




Impressum | © 2009 FB 1 Münster
Institut für neutestamentliche Textforschung
Pferdegasse 1 · 48143 Münster
Tel.: +49 (251) 83-22581 oder -22546 · Fax: +49 (251) 83-22582
E-Mail: